Committees and Groups

Committees | Action Groups | Interest Groups


IASSIST Standing Committees are responsible for the day-to-day running of the organization.

Administrative Committee

The Administrative Committee is the executive body of IASSIST. It implements policies, develops future directions, and coordinates activities for the organization.

  • 2021-2023 Chair: San Cannon, sandra.cannon [ at ]

Constitutional Review Committee

Responsible for receiving proposals for the enacting, amending, and repealing of the by-laws of IASSIST and for preparing revised articles and by-laws for members' approval, as well as for undertaking an annual review of the constitution and by-laws and proposing amendments as it deems appropriate.

  • 2021-2023 Chair: Ann Green, green.ann [ at ]

Professional Development Committee

Responsible for promoting the development of professional skills of IASSIST members through education, training, information, networking and mentoring.

  • 2020-2022 Chair: Amy Pienta, apienta [ at ] and Bobray Bordelon, bordelon [ at ]


Provides support for data professionals from countries with emerging economies and underrepresented regions who are developing information infrastructures regarding the use and preservation of research data. Provides support for early career professionals new to data in the social sciences, who may not otherwise have the funding to travel.

  • 2020-2022 Chair: Florio Arguillas, foa2 [ at ] and Sarah Young sarahy [ at ]

Membership Committee

Coordinates activities meant to grow IASSIST membership and addresses needs of existing and future members. Also undertakes representation and liaison activities; connects with sister organizations that have similar goals; and helps to increase the visibility of IASSIST. This Committee’s membership includes the Membership Chair, Regional Secretaries, the Vice President, and other IASSIST members as needed.

  • 2021-2023 Chair: Amanda Tickner, atickner [ at ]

Elections Committee

Responsible for receiving nominations for the election of the Administrative Committee, the Regional Secretaries, and the officers of IASSIST, distributing ballots and electoral information according to regulation, tallying the ballots, reporting on the results of the tally, and for recommending alterations in procedures. This committee is chaired by the immediate Past President. Administrative Committee members at large not up for election assist the chair.

  • 2021-2023 Chair: Tuomas J. Alaterä, tuomas.alatera [ at ]

Communications Committee

Responsible for enabling productive and transparent communication among members and between the organisation and the broader community. Scope includes delivering publications such as the IASSIST Quarterly, developing and maintaining the organisation’s communications mechanisms; oversight of the membership discussion list; and moderating social networking spaces which use the IASSIST brand name. The Committee shall advise other committees and groups on the use of appropriate communication tools for online collaboration and solicit content from them for public channels. This Committee’s membership shall include the IQ Editor and the Web Editor as well as reviewers and web section editors.

  • 2021-2023 Chair: Tuomas J. Alaterä, tuomas.alatera [ at ]
  • 2019-2023 IQ Editor: Karsten Boye Rasmussen, kbr [ at ]
  • 2019-2023 Web Editor: Zac Painter. zwp [ at ]
  • The IASSIST Web Team

Programme Committee

Responsible for deciding on an annual conference title as well as general thematic structure. The Program Chairs are responsible for the intellectual content of the conference, and choosing members of the multi-national Program Committee, deciding how it will function, and assigning responsibilities to its members. The Committee works along with the Local Arrangements Committee to set an agenda for putting together sessions, plenaries, workshops, and social events.

  • 2021-2022 Conference Co-Chairs: TBA

Action Groups

Action Groups undertake specific tasks, find solutions to specific problems, or develop and compile relevant materials for specific projects.

Anti-Racism Resources Action Group

The group anticipates to compile a variety of resources that might otherwise be difficult to find, e.g., datasets documenting racism and the Black experience internationally; tools, articles and rubrics for building anti-racism into the process of working with data across the research lifecycle; advice about combining and cleaning data around particular topics or to handle difficult analysis issues; etc.

  • 2020-2022 Chair: Michele Hayslett, michele_hayslett [ at ]

Values and Ethics Statement Action Group

This group’s mission is to develop and propose an IASSIST ethics statement to reflect and communicate the IASSIST membership’s common values.

  • 2020-2022 Chair: Cameron Tuai, cameron.tuai [ at ]

Read more: Former Action Groups

More about IASSIST Action Groups and how to establish one is described in the Constitution.

Interest Groups

Interest Groups share information on specific subjects with the larger IASSIST membership and serve as a forum of discussion between as well as during annual meetings.

Read more about IASSIST Interest Groups and how to establish one in the Interest Group Checklist.

Geospatial Interest Group

The central purpose of the IASSIST-Geo interest group is to create a network for members focused on issues of geospatial data as related to the social sciences. Expected outcomes include developing a connected and informed group, opportunities for professional development through training, shared professional tools, resources for all IASSIST members to make use of, both members and non-members of the IG, and an elevated awareness of social sciences and place.

  • 2021-2022 Co-Chairs: Jennie Murack, murack [ at ] and Amanda Tickner, atickner [ at ]

Qualitative Social Science and Humanities Data Interest Group (QSSHDIG)

The central purpose of the IASSIST Qualitative Social Science and Humanities Data Interest Group is to foster conversations regarding the needs of researchers who generate qualitative data, and what types of services librarians and other information professionals can develop to support these researchers in managing their data/source materials throughout the research lifecycle. Expected outcomes include

  1. developing a connected and informed group,
  2. providing opportunities for professional development through training, and
  3. collecting and creating tools and resources for all IASSIST members to make use of (both IG members and non-members).
  • 2021-2022 Co-Chairs: Sebastian Karcher, skarcher [ at ] and Alesia Montgomery, alesiam [ at ]

Health Data Interest Group (HDIG)

The availability of health data about individuals, gathered from surveys or health care systems, are an invaluable resource for researchers who wish to examine interactions between individuals and the healthcare they receive. In addition, there is now much more demand for research and analysis of linked health and social data (for example, health records linked with education or social security records). Particular challenges face data professionals who seek to acquire health, and linked health data. The IASSIST Health Data Interest Group has been established to bring together data practitioners and technicians who manage access to health, and health-linked data for research purposes, in order to share expertise and enable members to overcome challenges in their day-to-day roles.

  • 2021-2022 Chair: Deborah Wiltshire, deborahawilt [ at ]

Previous interest group resources

Previous Interest Groups have produced resources that may be of use for the membership or the data community at-large.

Explore interest group topics and resources